Tennessee Pharmacists Association

TSSP logo On June 20, during TPA’s 2020 Virtual Summer Meeting (June 18-21), the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of TPA, will honor the following  individuals for their leadership and dedication to student advancement, TSSP, and/or TPA. Congratulations! We appreciate your contributions to student pharmacists and the pharmacy profession!

Click on these links for more information about TPA, TSHP, and TSSP Awards. TSSP AWARDS TPA AWARDS TSHP AWARDS
2020 Recipients [BELOW] 2020 Recipients 2020 Recipients
All Past Recipients All Past Recipients All Past Recipients

Please click on the names below to learn more about TSSP’s 2020 award winners!

Auggie Bui Student Allegiance Award
Ashley Pugh Student Advocacy Award


Student Allegiance Award

Augustine “Auggie” Bui, PharmD, of Baldwin Park, California, was recently recognized by the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association (TPA), with the 2020 Student Allegiance Award.

Dr. Bui was an exceptional supporter of TPA and TSSP during his career as a student pharmacist. In 2019, he served as a delegate for the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society and represented TSSP as a member-at-large and delegate to the TPA House of Delegates. He has also served as a dedicated volunteer leader by contributing positively to the association and profession through his passion for photography and communications. During the 2020 TPA Pharmacy Day on the Hill, he worked with the immediate past American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Students of Pharmacy (APhA-ASP) Speaker of the House to create an advocacy video campaign featuring student pharmacists interacting with their representatives. On the national level, Dr. Bui served the ETSU Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy APhA-ASP chapter as Communications Vice President for two years and recently ended his term on the National APhA-ASP Standing Committee on Communications.

This award is given to a fourth-year student pharmacist who has directly benefited TSSP, TPA or both through their outstanding dedication and contributions to the organization(s). TSSP and TPA congratulate Dr. Bui for his outstanding dedication to patient care and pharmacy practice.



Student Advocacy Award

Ashley Pugh, PharmD, BCACP, of Enville, Tennessee, was recently recognized by the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association (TPA), with the 2020 Student Advocacy Award.

Dr. Pugh is the Assistant Director of Experiential and Interprofessional Education and Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Union University College of Pharmacy in Jackson, Tennessee. In addition to her teaching responsibilities at the College, she has a practice site at Kroger Pharmacy. Dr. Pugh has taken an active role in developing the leadership skills of each student she mentors, by identifying strengths and weaknesses in leadership and providing them with opportunities to grow. Not only does she encourage students to advocate for patients and the profession of pharmacy, she leads by example by volunteering alongside students at patient care events. Her passion for the profession of pharmacy shines through and has been noted by her students.

Dr. Pugh is a member of TPA and has been actively involved in the American Pharmacists Association, serving on several committees, and in the West Tennessee Pharmacists Association, previously serving as President. She has also served on the Relay for Life Planning Committee in Chester County since 2014, serves as a Sunday School Teacher at Shiloh Baptist Church, and has served as the Union University College of Pharmacy Honduras Mission Team Leader on three separate occasions.

This award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated devotion to the success of student pharmacists through a commitment of life-long leadership and student support. Dr. Ashley Pugh received the award during the annual TPA meeting on June 20th. TSSP and TPA congratulate Dr. Pugh for her outstanding work and contributions to student development, patient care, and pharmacy practice.