Tennessee Pharmacists Association

TSSP logo On June 19, during TPA’s 2021 Virtual Summer Meeting (June 17-19), the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of TPA, honored the following  individuals for their leadership and dedication to student advancement, TSSP, and/or TPA. Congratulations! We appreciate your contributions to student pharmacists and the pharmacy profession!

Click on these links for more information about TPA, TSHP, and TSSP Awards. TPA AWARDS TSHP AWARDS TSSP AWARDS
2021 Recipients 2021 Recipients
2021 Recipients [BELOW]
All Past Recipients All Past Recipients All Past Recipients

Please click on the names below to learn more about TSSP’s 2021 award winners!

  Alex Schwaner Student Allegiance Award
  Brad Spencer Student Advocacy Award

Alex Schwaner

Student Allegiance Award

Alexander “Alex” Schwaner, PharmD, MBA, of Franklin, Tennessee, was recently recognized by the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association (TPA), with the 2021 Student Allegiance Award.

Dr. Schwaner was an exceptional supporter of TPA and TSSP during his career as a student pharmacist at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) College of Pharmacy.  As a student pharmacist, he served as the Vice President of the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, Treasurer of the Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, and a UTHSC student ambassador, in addition to representing TSSP as a member-at-large.  Dr. Schwaner’s passion for policy and advocating for the profession of pharmacy showed through his service to TPA and TSSP, as he was heavily involved in leading these efforts as a student pharmacist.  His leadership in this area led to his receiving the 2021 UTHSC College of Pharmacy Legislative and Policy Award.  Dr. Schwaner also completed his Master of Business Administration at the University of Memphis while attending pharmacy school.

This award is given to a fourth-year student pharmacist who has directly benefited TSSP, TPA or both, through outstanding dedication and contributions to the organization(s).  TSSP and TPA congratulate Dr. Schwaner for his outstanding dedication to patient care and pharmacy practice.


Brad Spencer

Student Advocacy Award

Brad Spencer, PharmD, BCCCP, of Jackson, Tennessee, was recently recognized by the Tennessee Society of Student Pharmacists (TSSP), a Society of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association (TPA), with the 2021 Student Advocacy Award.

Dr. Spencer is a Clinical Pharmacist in Pharmacy Informatics for the Jackson-Madison County General Hospital. He previously served as an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Union University College of Pharmacy. Dr. Spencer has taken an active role in encouraging students to advocate for patients and the profession of pharmacy. Actively involved in the state pharmacy association since his time as a student, he shows by example the importance of being a lifelong advocate for the profession and for those with whom they interact. Dr. Spencer is a member of TPA and the West Tennessee Pharmacy Association. He was the Phi Lambda Sigma, Gamma-Sigma Chapter Alumnus of the Year in 2016 and served as Faculty Advisor for six years.

Dr. Spencer and his wife, Karie, have three children, Kinsley, Adelyn, and Drew. He has served as a Jackson Area Wide Soccer Coach and a Deacon at First Baptist Church of Jackson.

This award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated devotion to the success of student pharmacists through a commitment of lifelong leadership and student support. TSSP and TPA congratulate Dr. Spencer for his outstanding work and contributions to student development, patient care, and pharmacy practice.