Tennessee Pharmacists Association
You Have a Voice: TPA

The Governor’s Administration released its amended budget yesterday, in a hearing attended by TPA staff. This amended budget included funds allocated to cover the 1% provider rate reductions to the TennCare program which were proposed in FY 2015-2016. HOWEVER, funding was NOT restored for the proposed pharmacy AWP-based cuts totaling $17.4 million ($6 million in state funds and $11.4 million in federal matching funds). 

It is now up to the Senators and Representatives listed below and YOUR legislators to decide whether or not to restore these cuts and fund pharmacy practice initiatives! If these cuts are not funded, pharmacy will experience a decrease in AWP reimbursements for brand name medications, generic medications, and specialty medications.

CLICK HERE to see how the proposed TennCare cuts would affect pharmacy practice.

TPA is urging EVERY MEMBER to contact the legislators below, as well as YOUR legislators, regarding three very important pieces of pharmacy-related legislation:

  • Restoration of Proposed AWP-Based TennCare Cuts to the Pharmacy Program from FY 2015-2016
  • HB 587 by Shepard, Todd, Harrison / SB 593 by Haile – Funding for Pharmacy Robbery Enhancement Factor Legislation
  • HB 2398 by Littleton, Shepard, Sexton C, Swann, Carr / SB 1882 SB 1882 byMcNally, Crowe, Overbey, Haile, Bowling – Funding for MTM in Medicaid Legislation
To assist you in contacting your legislators, TPA has prepared an email template that includes all three of these messages in one email that can be directed to your legislators using your zip code. To send this email through T-PLAN, TPA’s automated email service, please CLICK HERE. Be sure to customize your email before sending it along to your Tennessee Representative and Tennessee Senator.

In addition, please contact the following Senators and Representatives individually.

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee

Senators Position Email Phone
Randy McNally Chair sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-6806
Bo Watson 1st Vice-Chair sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-3227
Doug Overbey 2nd Vice-Chair sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-0981
Steven Dickerson sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-6679
Ferrell Haile sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1999
Thelma Harper sen.thelma.harper@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2453
Joey Hensley sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-3100
Bill Ketron sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-6853
Mark Norris sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1967
John Stevens sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-4576
Reginald Tate sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2509

House Finance, Ways and Means Committee

Representatives Position Email Phone
Charles Sargent, Jr. Chair rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-6808
David Alexander Vice-Chair rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-8695
Joe Armstrong rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-0768
Kevin Brooks rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1350
Karen Camper rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1898
Mike Carter rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-3025
Barbara Cooper rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-4295
Bill Dunn rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1721
Craig Fitzhugh rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2134
Brenda Gilmore rep.brenda.gilmore@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1997
David Hawk rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-7482
Patsy Hazlewood rep.patsy.hazlewood@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2746
Gary Hicks rep.gary.hicks@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-7480
Matthew Hill rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2251
Curtis Johnson rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-4341
Susan Lynn rep.susan.lynn@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-7462
Gerald McCormick rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-2548
Steve McDaniel rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-0750
Steve McManus rep.steve.mcmanus@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1920
Larry Miller rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov  (615) 741-4453
Bo Mitchell rep.bo.mitchell@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-4317
Curry Todd rep.curry.todd@capitol.tn.gov (615) 741-1866

Thank you for your assistance with this very important effort! TPA will continue to keep members informed as developments unfold.